The Washington Association for Infant Mental Health

Board Members

Susan McLaughlin, PhD (President)
Susan has over twenty years of experience in child, adolescent, and family health, behavioral health and policy and has dedicated her career to improving the systems that serve them. Susan is currently the first ever Executive Director of the King County Accountable Community of Health, a regional partnership committed to working in new ways to improve the health and well-being of King County residents. At the heart of the King County ACH is an understanding that many factors affect our health including social and economic factors, our physical environment, the quality and availability of health and social services, and the choices we have access to and make as individuals. Prior to that, Susan was the Health and Human Services Administrator at the King County Department of Community and Human Services where she led multiple cross-system initiatives to improve service delivery in the region. Susan has deep knowledge in managed care and the Medicaid program, evidence-based behavioral health interventions for children, youth and families, change management, and health and behavioral health policy. In addition to her work at King County, Susan has held leadership roles at Seattle Children’s Hospital on the Inpatient Psychiatric Unit and at the Child Study and Treatment Center and provided assessment and treatment to children, youth and families in her private practice for over 15 years. Susan has a Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology from the University of California, San Diego/San Diego State University Joint Doctoral Program where she specialized in children, youth and families and the intersection between Child Welfare, Psychology and the Law.

Susan Spieker, PhD (Past President)
Susan is professor of family and child nursing at the University of Washington and the Kathryn Barnard Endowed Professor for Infant Mental Health. She teaches infant mental health courses at the undergraduate and graduate levels and conducts research aimed at supporting healthy development prenatally through five years. Her research has focused on Early Head Start, a federally funded, community-based program for low-income pregnant women and families with infants and toddlers, and Promoting First Relationships®, a prevention program dedicated to promoting children’s social-emotional development through responsive, nurturing caregiver-child relationships.


Anne Stone, MPA, MA (Treasurer)
Anne has over twenty years of experience in child and family policy and has most recently dedicated her career to child health and early childhood systems reform. Anne is currently the State Project Director of Frontiers of Innovation, housed in the Washington State Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) in partnership with Harvard University’s Center for the Developing Child. Anne facilitates cross-agency policy dialogue and encourages a commitment to professional development that is grounded in the research and science of early childhood. Prior to her position at Frontiers of Innovation, Anne served as the Executive Director for the Washington Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics.  She has also held roles with Artz Center for Developmental Health and United Way of Columbia-Willamette, both in Portland, Oregon. Among many other awards, Anne received the Children’s Mental Health Advocate of the Year from the Oregon Council on Child and Adolescent Psychiatry in 2013. Anne has earned her Master of Public Administration from Lewis and Clark College and her Master of Speech Pathology/ Audiology from Washington State University.




Photos & Bios Coming Soon…

Lisa Mennet, PhD, LMHC

Jeannie Larson, MD

Nita Lynn, MA Ed.

Haruko Watanabe Choosakul, LMHC, IMH-E® (IV-C)

Maureen Marcenko, MSW, PhD


Past Board Officers

September 2013-August 2014
President: Susan Spieker, PhD
Secretary: Judy Burr-Chellan, LMHC
Treasurer: Valerie Pickens

July 2011-July 2013
President: Susan Spieker, PhD
Secretary Treasurer: Eve Keller
Webmaster: Jennifer Nash

July 2009-July 2011
President: Caron Harrang, LICSW, FIPA
Secretary Treasurer: Margaret Bergmann Ness, LICSW

July 2007-July 2009
President: Dana Blue, LICSW, FIPA
Co-President, July-2007-July 2008: Lisa Mennet, PhD
Secretary Treasurer: Margaret Bergmann Ness, LICSW

July 2005-July 2007
President: Mirta Berman Oelsner, LMHC, FIPA
Secretary Treasurer, Nicole Wiggins, LMHC

July 2003-July 2005
President: Ginger Miller, LMHC
Secretary Treasurer: Melissa Hoffman, LICSW

July 2001-July 2003
Founding President: Colleen Huebner, PhD, MPH
Founding Secretary Treasurer: Diane Fisher, LMHC

Share Button